Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Little Swinger

I am free at last, free at last.  My daughter has made me feel like a Gen X-er for the first time by permitting me to be a lazier father.  I’ve been waiting for this day for a while and today it finally arrived by surprise.

We have a swing set in our yard.  Said swing set is used a lot by both of my children, a few neighbor kids and one strange little fellow who sneaks in late at night, but we’ll leave him out of this.  My four-year-old always wants to be pushed while swinging and I get a little fed up with having to be the pusher.  I don’t know if you know this, but I have to get out of my comfortable hammock to push her every time, so I tried to teach her how to pump.  I’ve tried over and over, but it hasn’t sunk in, until today.

I’d like to take credit for this spectacular milestone, but it happened while I was in the pool.  I heard my name mentioned, you know, Daddy, while floating around so I peeked at my wonderful little girl swinging her little heart out perfectly.  It was pure poetry in motion, if you like that kind of thing, that is.

She caught my eye and shouted out with glee, “I’m swinging, Daddy.”

“You look glorious Little One, glorious,” I yelled.

Okay, okay, it was more like, “That’s great Little One, I’m very proud of you.”  A little encouragement can go a long way, especially if the activity makes my life easier.

My face was moist, but I think it was from me falling off my Spongebob float and had nothing to do with the idea of not having to leave the hammock again… unless the boy wants to swing, of course.

August 5, 2007 - Posted by | family, Humor, kids, life, parenthood, parenting

2 Comments »

  1. Eh. Just give him a stickey plate! LOL

    Three cheers for the gal!

    But I hate to break it to ya, dad…..she’ll now want ‘under-duckies’.
    😀

    Comment by mel | August 6, 2007 | Reply

  2. Mel,
    I’ll pass on the cheers, but there’s no way that I’m fitting under our swingset… running or rolling.

    Comment by linusmann | August 9, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

