Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Happy, but wet, 4th of July

Because of the lousy weather, the kids don’t even know that today’s special for anything other than Mommy’s not working on a Wednesday.  I figured that they’re still a little too young for a history lesson about the founding fathers and fireworks.

The whole George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Benjamin Franklin and the rest of their merry men story might be a little advanced for an almost-four-year-old and a boy that’s two.  They might enjoy the tea party thing, but I didn’t have any costumes on hand and it’s too wet outside to search for feathers for our hair.

As for fireworks, they are a phenomenon that I like to participate in only visually.  I like all my fingers and my hearing too much to throw them away with an M-80 or cherry bomb.  I have no problem with other people taking the risks as long as they don’t share the flying explosives with my roof or my hair, because both artificial materials ignite easily.

I hope all Americans have a great Independence Day.  If you happen to be British and read this, no hard feelings.  Just think of it this way; your offspring has really grown into its own. 

July 4, 2007 - Posted by | All about me, Buffalo, family, Humor, kids, life, parenthood, parenting, Ranting, Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. ROFL

    From one who married a Brit….trust me when I tell ya that he’s still sore that they lost the war.

    It was all I could do to keep him from flying the St. George’s Flag yesterday…..but I persevered and was successful! 😉

    Hope you had a safe and enjoyable Independence Day!

    Comment by mel | July 5, 2007 | Reply

  2. Mel,
    Thanks for the sentiments and inform your husband that it’s time to let old wounds heal, it was the 18th century for God’s sake.

    Comment by linusmann | July 5, 2007 | Reply

  3. *snickering*

    Well, I knew he was older than me…but WOW! 😉

    I suppose he’d let go of it faster if I didn’t remind him of the loss, huh?

    *snickering*
    NOT that I’m gloating, mindyou!

    Comment by mel | July 6, 2007 | Reply

  4. Come along, we rushed back here after 20 days of solid rain in England just to be here in time for the 4th – no-one could understand why? [and it wasn’t just to escape the rain]
    Cheers

    Comment by mcewen | July 18, 2007 | Reply

  5. test test, is this thing on? where ya been? it’s been nearly forever since you last posted. So if your counter goes up once or twice a day, its just me, wishing you’d write more. You’re funnier than shit and sometimes, being where I am, laughing at other people just doesn’t cut it. come on funny man, make me laugh!

    Comment by Aunt Weather | July 19, 2007 | Reply

  6. Mcewen,
    Hope you had a great 4th, and that your British brethren don’t despise you for it.

    A.W.,
    Patience. Good things come to those who wait. I will post something later today… probably.

    Comment by linusmann | July 19, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

