Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Want to See Some Cool Bugs?

My daughter loves insects and I think it’s great.  Without her around I would’ve never known which ones actually bite or taste the best.

Her fondness of the winged buzzing types and the creepy crawling ones has been taken to a new level this year.  She actually looks for them on her own or with her little bug-hunting posse and she’s definitely NOT afraid to pick them up and let them crawl on her (this isn’t new, see Ladybug Crawl).

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been relaxing in the back yard pretending to be paying attention to the wee ones when my daughter’s standing before me with a huge grin and asks, “Want to see some cool bugs?”  Who could resist an offer like that?  I know I couldn’t, because even if I’m dead-tired her enthusiasm is like a jolt of adrenaline pumping through my veins.

I follow the leader of the bug hunters to the various “homes” of our arthropod friends.  These are under strategically placed cinderblocks and logs around our expansive backyard.  The best spot is right behind our pool deck.  There’s a leftover log from the October Storm (see No More Power… for a long while (part one)) which houses a lot of cool bugs, like beetles, earthworms, potato bugs, milipedes, ants and one of my daughter’s new favorites, slugs.

“Can I touch them, Daddy?” She asks politely.

“Of course, young lady, just don’t hurt them.”

To her credit, I haven’t seen her sqash one yet… at least not recently.

When she doesn’t have an adult next to her on one of these expeditions she takes it upon herself that it’s okay to pick up her somewhat little tickly friends.  My wife had the pleasure of seeing this first-hand.

“Mommy, I found a spider.”

“That’s great, dear.”

“Wanna see it?”

Before she could answer our little angel opened her hand to show off her find.  My darling wife wanted to bolt when she saw the somewhat large spider in her daughter’s hand but fought hard against it.  She said that on the inside she was terrified and somehow kept her outside demeanor in check as to not guide our daughter into the world of being afraid of insects.  Yes, most of those fears are inherited through action, not genes.

“Look, it’s tickling me,” she said as the spider crawled on her arm.

“Th-th-that’s nice.”

Just so you know, no insects were harmed in the writing of this post and neither was my daughter. 

June 30, 2007 - Posted by | Bugs, family, Humor, kids, life, parenthood, parenting

3 Comments »

  1. Slugs! What cool slimey bugs!

    I made himself purchase a bug jar with a magnifying glass on the top…he went along with it cuz he’s a good sport. WAY cool to look at ’em upclose and personal. You can see the toes on lightening bugs! WAY cool!!

    (Ya know, she’s right…..spiders do tickle.) 🙂

    Comment by mel | July 2, 2007 | Reply

  2. Mel,
    My daughter has an actual bug catcher with a magnifying glass and loves it.
    Thanks for reading.

    Comment by linusmann | July 3, 2007 | Reply

  3. Cool bug??? No way! Even in my ‘line’ of work, I tried to avoid some…especially ones the size and kind in my darling granddaughter’s hand! I haven’t seen that one before or his ilk. Guess I’ll have to look him up…just for curiosity’s sake of course. Now as for the slugs…I don’t suppose you want me to show her what fun it is to dessicate a slug, do you? A little table salt goes a long way!

    Comment by The Grandmother | July 12, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

