Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Little Superstar… sort of

Somersaults, high-beam leg lifts, assisted vaults and somersaults were all part of my little angel’s repertoire for her gymnastics demonstration.  This was the first public performance of her three years and eleven months on this earth and she shined, so much so that she received two sets of flowers, compliments of both Grandmothers, and a gold medal.  The significance of the color of the medal was minimal; they all were gold.

When the classes began last September it was difficult watching my daughter doing things without my wife or me.  I wanted to go out and help her or even to tell her to listen to her teacher, but I couldn’t because it was time to cut the cord… time for me, that is.  She loved the idea of being out of her parents’ reach.  She didn’t say it with words, but she’s never looked back once she’s in the gym.  Okay, she has waved to me a couple of times and gives me the kind of smile that says that she’s having the time of her life without me.  Give me a minute to wipe off the keyboard; somehow it’s a little moist.

My daughter’s parents have totally committed themselves to her being as successful as possible by making sure she attended all but two classes all year and those absences couldn’t be avoided.  One was due to an illness and the other to Anna Nicole Smith’s death.  Who could play on that day?

It’s been exciting watching my daughter develop her skills, social and gymnastic.  To be expected, she appears to be the apple of many of the older girls’ eyes.  They all call out to her and treat her like a little sister that they actually like.

Even though I see a few mistakes here and there, it seems as though my wonderful ball of energy has really taken to this sport.  It suits her daredevil personality perfectly.  If something’s in front of her she’ll want to climb it, just like her little brother, but that’s another story that I’ll get into at another time.

The day of the demonstration arrived before we knew it and I could feel the energy in the air at our house.  Luckily my daughter was there to calm me down enough to help her into her outfit.  My wife told me that the tights would be best without underwear because our gymnast wouldn’t be wearing shorts over them for the first time.  I couldn’t get it in my head that it’s similar to a bathing suit, so I ignored this advice because I couldn’t send my daughter out in public without underwear, who is she… Britney Spears?

At the event our star had seven fans wholly devoted to her: paternal grandmother; paternal aunt; maternal grandfather; maternal grandmother; mother; brother; and me (father).  We all couldn’t get enough of seeing her in action with the exception of her little brother who ran from each one of us whenever we set him free on the floor.

The events were spectacular, I think.  Most of them were way down on the other end of the auditorium.  Those not as important, to me, older kids impeded our view.  From what we could see, our very own Nadia Comaneci was excellent on the balance beam.  Meaning that she kept her balance, with a little help from her teacher.  She excelled at everything that we didn’t have a great vantage point of.  That’s my belief until someone tells me differently.  Fortunately, we did have a great view of her best feat; she somersaulted across the width of the auditorium without stopping.  It reminded me of kids rolling down hills in the old days inside tractor tires to get that sense of euphoria or nausea depending on your equilibrium.

I think it was around the time of the somersaults that her now seen wedgie got progressively worse.  She unsuccessfully tried to fix it, but ended up having the underwear that I put on her hanging out the back of her leotard.  Fortunately, she’s too young to be self conscious about such things.

It was now time for the athletes to receive their just rewards.  Our little superstar’s face shined brightly as she raised her arms on the podium and had the GOLD medal placed around her neck.  Her mother, grandmothers, grandfather, aunt and I soaked in every second of it.  My guess is that this is only the beginning of many events and games and plays and competitions to come for both my kids.

I don’t care if they are the best as long as they do their best.  Who am I kidding; they’re both clean slates so far, so they will be the best… I hope… not that it matters. 

June 24, 2007 - Posted by | family, gymnastics, kids, life, parenthood, parenting

3 Comments »

  1. I just love your writing. I get a good laugh every time. But it also brings back so many memories. Both my daughters were in gymnastics and I could so relate to your story.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Bill

    Comment by Bill Howdle | June 24, 2007 | Reply

  2. Bill,
    You are always too kind with the compliments, but don’t stop. I’m glad that you enjoyed it.

    Comment by linusmann | June 25, 2007 | Reply

  3. Awwwwwwww……what a proud dad moment.
    (and I’m not talking about the wedgie…LOL)

    I tried a somersault last summer and darn near didn’t get back up.
    Oh to be able to go across the whole auditorium…..small wonder she took the gold!

    Comment by mel | June 25, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

