Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Sunshine and Sloppy Tea

The local weather guy said that the Buffalo area had its sunniest May ever this year and my brown lawn agrees with him.  The last eight months have been a weather roller coaster ride.  We had a freaking snowstorm in October, and then only a smidgen of the white stuff came down until well after our “Green Christmas”.  The real WNY winter reared its ugly head in mid-January and decided to stick around until late April.  Finally, May was awesome, if you like warm or hot weather with lots of sunshine and being able to go outside without a parka and snowshoes.

This brings me to what takes place around my humble abode when the weather finally breaks.  WeMy wife scrubbed out the little plastic kiddy-pool and I dragged out the little plastic kiddy-sprinkler and we sent the children out into our yard in their bathing suits to have their annual bath while we hung out in the central-air filled house.  Okay, okay on the chance that the authorities are reading this, we hung out on the deck enjoying drinks with little umbrellas in them and supervised the children, of course.

Like their Mom, the kids put on their little thinking caps and placed their Little Tykes slide into the pool.  That combined with the sprinkler and the the play fountain of theirs created their very own mini water park.  With all this going on you’d think the kids would be self-sufficient, but you’d be wrong, because the little leaches wanted something more; attention.  I guess all the cool material objects weren’t enough, because we actually had to play with them.  What’s next, affection?

My daughter did what most people like to do on a sweltering day; she had a tea party.  She gathered her tea party essentials, you know, a teapot, sugar bowl, toy Shrek and two tea cups from her playhouse and placed them on a table near the pool.  Her ability to adapt to the situation at hand presented itself when I witnessed how she ‘played’ tea party.  She filled the two tea cups and then drank them both herself.  I was a little disappointed that she didn’t offer one to me, my wife or her little brother until I saw what she was actually doing.   She didn’t really drink the grass-laden water she had scooped out of the pool with the teapot; she put the cups to her closed mouth and let the water drip down her body.  At first I thought that she was imitating how I usually drink my coffee in the morning, but then I realized that she was just cooling herself off in a unique way.

I would have joined her, but I didn’t want to get my thong wet. 

June 2, 2007 - Posted by | Buffalo, family, Humor, kids, life, parenthood, parenting, Ranting, weather

5 Comments »

  1. Oh c’mon…..what fun is a waterpark withOUT the attention.

    LOOK, dad, LOOK!
    WATCH MEEEEEE!!!!!! YIPPEE!!!!!!!!

    And *looking around for witnesses* I manage to pour the cup’s contents down the front of myself without a swimsuit. I’m blaming lack of caffeine, of course. Mostly cuz I dribble less after that second pot.
    (yes, I meant pot!)

    Comment by mel | June 4, 2007 | Reply

  2. Mel,
    I guess the kids should be given some attention, because I hear that before I know it they’ll want me to look away or just ignore them.

    Comment by linusmann | June 6, 2007 | Reply

  3. Dear SIL, that is a sight I’d rather not bear witness to. Sorry. But I do have some reservations about certain things. Thongs are one of them…oh dear…you were talking about thongs…footwear.

    Comment by The Grandmother | June 12, 2007 | Reply

  4. Dear Grandmother. It’s thong we were talking about, not thongS. just single. swimwear, dear

    Comment by Sally | June 22, 2007 | Reply

  5. Sally,
    I think my M-I-L is using a defense mechanism to get the horrible visual of me in a thong out of her mind, even though, unfortunately for her, it’s probably branded in there.

    Comment by linusmann | June 23, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

