Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Now That I’m a Star, Where are the Perks

It’s been two days since the media confirmed the one thing that I always knew; I belong in the limelight.  Look below for another glimpse of my performance.

Star Maker

Now that you’ve seen it again please tell me how come I still have to do all the same things I did before I “made it”?  Today, I changed diapers, did laundry, grocery shopped, had a good cry and ran the dishwasher just like almost any other day.  I thought the world was going to be my oyster or at the least my toaster by now, but the only out of the ordinary positive thing that happened was that my daughter had a great potty day.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to be treated differently, but some kind of financial reward would be nice… soon.  Some free time would come in handy, too.  Maybe I could break 100 on the golf course if I get out more than once a year.  That only applies if Putt-Putt’s still in business, of course.

I need to nip this negative thing in the bud quickly because I know the good stuff is on its way.  It’s just taking a little longer than I expected for Brad and Angelina to ring me up for a fun n’ sun in a Mozambique Aids camp with the wife and kids.  I thought, at the least, I’d be asked to play a rapist on Law & Order SUV, by now.

I guess I’ll go on like nothing happened until something happens.  It’s not easy being in demand when no one’s knocking on my door.  Maybe I’ll wait outside.

May 10, 2007 - Posted by | All about me, Buffalo, career opportunities, firefighting, Humor, life, Ranting, Television, Usual Day at the Office

8 Comments »

  1. Hey, weren’t you that guy in “Back Draft”?
    I think I’ve seen you in a ton of things! :0)

    You know, you’ll never get any financial rewards.
    A year ago, my husband and I along with my neighbors, we’re on a Trading Spaces episode. Yep, we were on TV for a full hour. (well, minus some intrusive commercials). Every now and then, (a year later), we get recognized but NO CHECKS or requests for autographs or NOTHIN! I thought we’d at least get a few free meals hear and there. NADA!
    But you just keep plugging away there buddy!
    and if it makes you feel better, you can send me and my family an autographed photo of the above shot. :o)

    Comment by Zoning Out Again | May 11, 2007 | Reply

  2. Oh by the way,
    I’m stalking you too and have linked you on my page.
    Ahhhem…hint hint :0)
    ~(looks up repeatedly at your blogroll)~

    Comment by Zoning Out Again | May 11, 2007 | Reply

  3. You’re my hero and you always will be.

    Comment by Aunt Weather | May 11, 2007 | Reply

  4. By the way, come by and give us some advice on my Bra Fat.
    Thanks! :0)

    Comment by Zoning Out Again | May 11, 2007 | Reply

  5. Zoning,
    I appreciate the reality check, but one must not give up on his or her dreams.
    Check my blogroll again, your eyes must’ve been a little out of focus.

    A.W.,
    Thanks for the flattery, it will get you everywhere.

    Comment by linusmann | May 12, 2007 | Reply

  6. SWEET!!!!!!!!!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE ADD!
    I’m getting really good at this comment whoreing stuff! Now come on over and leave me a comment about the Bra Fat thing, my comment section misses you!

    Comment by Zoning Out Again | May 12, 2007 | Reply

  7. Man, I have so been tossed to the curb.

    Comment by Diesel | May 13, 2007 | Reply

  8. Diesel,
    Don’t worry, there’s enough cyber-space ink left for all of us to share. Besides, You have many stalkers.

    Comment by linusmann | May 15, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

