Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Career Photo Op, Chance of a Lifetime

My job occasionally gives me the opportunity to be an extra on television and in this modern age, on the web.  I don’t get paid for this, but the possible exposure can only boost my writing career.  I never know when the occasion will present itself, so I always have to make sure I look my best while I’m working.  I need to take advantage of any chance I get. 

Yesterday afternoon the cameras were rolling and I actually made the cut on both mediums.  I hate to brag, but I was brilliant.  Even though I was only on TV for a second, I hit it out of the park.  I was so good that the news station used a still frame of me for its main promo on the web.  I’m talking; it was the first photograph on the home page.  This is big-time, baby.

I’ve been walking on air all day today because of my new-found celebrity.  When I went to the bank everyone acted as though they didn’t recognize me, but I saw them talking to each other about me around the conference table behind the glass partition that said Employees OnlyIt was almost sickening how they pretended not to notice me.

If there’s a downside to my exposure it’s the way my family and co-workers will probably treat me now.  They’ll wait on me hand and foot or shower me with gifts just to make sure I take them along for the ride.  I really hope they don’t do those things, but I’m keeping tabs.

I’m reluctantly putting the pic in the following link only because it needs to be seen: Star Maker.

No, we don’t all look alike, and yes, I’m positive it’s me.  I think it shows my best side, just like my web log photo: My Best Side.  I might want to shave my neck, though.

Just so all three of you that read this thing know I will remain the same humble guy no matter where this incredible stroke of luck takes me.  Say hi to all the little people for me. 

May 9, 2007 - Posted by | All about me, Buffalo, career opportunities, firefighting, Humor, life, Ranting, Television, Usual Day at the Office

7 Comments »

  1. *laughing* Silly Guy.

    Comment by Catherine | May 9, 2007 | Reply

  2. My solution for when people pretend not to recognize me is to wear pink velvet cowboy hat. Try to ignore me now, peons!

    Comment by Diesel | May 10, 2007 | Reply

  3. They were probable commenting on the Jelly stain on your Pants from sitting on something that the boy left on a chair.

    Comment by The Good Uncle | May 10, 2007 | Reply

  4. Now that you have achieved celebrity status such as you have. I am sure you will see a lot of people “pretending” not to notice you. It would be totally out of respect for you and your desire for privacy. lol
    Is it alright if I tell people I knew you or at least wrote to you even before your stardom hit.
    I always enjoy your posts, please keep up the great work.
    Bill – Dying Man’s Daily Journal

    Comment by hudds53 | May 10, 2007 | Reply

  5. Catherine,
    What’s so funny? ;]

    Diesel,
    I think you have the right attitude; just blend in.

    GUnc,
    That’s not jelly.

    Bill,
    I knew it was out of respect, I keep telling my wife that and she just shakes her head.
    You can tell everyone you knew me before I was something… what I am now, I don’t know.

    Comment by linusmann | May 10, 2007 | Reply

  6. Is that an Oscar in your pocket or are you just happy to see me?

    From all us little people, we would like to wish you all the best in your new-found notoriety. Given your upward move society, perhaps you’ll get to know Paris Hilton and become her penitentiary pen-pal. Keep up the great work!

    Comment by BiggusDickus | May 17, 2007 | Reply

  7. Big Dick,
    The discreet heiress will probably receive enough prison mail from other nut-jobs, but I imagine that Paris will be at some of the same parties as me when she completes her hard time. I’ll probably snub her though, because I don’t want to be associated with a known criminal.

    Comment by linusmann | May 17, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

