Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Jumping for Joy

Today’s the boy’s birthday and he loves it… I think.  He doesn’t exactly verbalize everything clearly, yet, but he’s jumped for joy a few times already and we’re still in the AM and haven’t even given him his multitude of gifts.  As for the jumping for joy, I wish that I still did that, but at my age I’d probably break my hip or at the least, twist my ankle.

Shouts of “happy birthday” greeted the little guy as my wife ceremoniously paraded him into the kitchen right after he woke up.  My daughter’s over-exuberant chant excited the birthday boy so much that the second his toes touched linoleum he leapt toward the ceiling and cackled.  Then he noticed the toy cars assembled around a Little People birthday cake and got air, again, and immediately joined in on the celebration with his little wheeled friends.

There are probably at least one hundred toy cars in our house at the moment and I have the feeling there will be many more by the end of the day.  It’s not that I think the boy cars and girl cars are up to something, even though that would be worth watching or videoing, I just know that the pool of gift-givers coming to the party knows that he loves cars and will shower him with them.

I’m guessing that the boy’s jumps for joy will multiply exponentially as the day goes on and it will be a birthday to remember.  For us that is, because at two his memories will most likely just grow out of the plethora of pictures that will be taken today so I better smile whether I’m happy, frazzled or delirious.  My guess is I’ll be the former most of the day unless, of course, the kids don’t do exactly what I want them to do… quietly.

April 15, 2007 - Posted by | Buffalo, Donuts, family, Humor, kids, life, parenthood, parenting

4 Comments »

  1. Happy Birthday Godson! I so wish I could have been there. Can’t wait to see pictures!

    Comment by Aunt Weather | April 16, 2007 | Reply

  2. Happy birthday

    Comment by Dave | April 18, 2007 | Reply

  3. A big happy Happy Birthday, to the birthday boy.
    Bill

    Comment by hudds53 | April 18, 2007 | Reply

  4. A.W.,
    He wishes you were here, too, but thanks for protecting the world instead.

    Dave and Bill,
    Thanks for the b-day wishes. I’ll pass them along to my boy because his little chubby fingers haven’t mastered the keyboard, yet.

    Comment by linusmann | April 18, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

