Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Easter Eggs and Bug Catchers

Over-indulgence seems to be a recurring theme in my holiday scripts.  It’s Wednesday already and I still feel like I’m going to explode.  The feast on Easter Sunday was a brunch at my parents’ house that could’ve fed a thousand, luckily only nine hundred of us showed up; well maybe the count was more like eleven.  There were different choices of egg dishes and different choices of potato dishes and different choices of cookies and cakes and different choices of bugs.  I actually didn’t see any bugs, but I saw a bug catcher, so I just made an assumption based on circumstantial evidence.

Contrary to popular belief, a bug catcher is not like a dogcatcher.  It’s not a profession at all; it’s a little plastic container that came with a tiny net and a pair of plastic tweezers.  It was there because my sister, Aunt HockeyMom, gave it to my daughter because she loves bugs… my daughter that is.  My sister’s actually terrified of many of the little creatures that she wants my little explorer to hunt down.  Maybe the bug catcher can be “accidentally” opened at Aunt HockeyMom’s house some time in the summer just for laughs.

My daughter stopped eating chocolate for a minute because she was thrilled with the unusual, but appreciated, Easter gift and so was I for different reasons; the children didn’t need any more candy for me them to eat over the next few days.  She wanted to use it immediately, but we hadn’t brought her snowsuit and winter boots with us so she’d have to wait until it warms up… in June.  My little angel examined every part of the contraption and its accessories with delight while I ate a sixteenth breakfast sausage.  She shook the empty container, she pulled on the little net and she pinched the tweezers together numerous times.  That’s when she looked at my wife and me and asked, “Is this for hurting bugs?”

After answering her with a straight face I waddled backwards out of the room and my bulging stomach soon followed.  Fortunately none of our relatives who would have encouraged her negatively were there because it was just a legitimate question from an inquisitive child and not a sign of any kind that she wants to maim or torture living creatures.  That’s what I keep telling myself and pretty soon I’ll believe it… I hope.

April 11, 2007 - Posted by | Bugs, family, Humor, kids, life, parenthood, parenting

3 Comments »

  1. So… it’s NOT for hurting bugs? Man, my daughter is going to be so disappointed.

    Comment by Diesel | April 11, 2007 | Reply

  2. What are you trying to say, that we encourage devious behavior? I would never do that (hehe)

    Comment by The Good Uncle | April 12, 2007 | Reply

  3. Diesel,
    I never said that it’s NOT for hurting bugs, I just felt it was necessary to lie to my daughter about it or I’d be removing wings and legs from my son’s mouth all summer.

    GUnc,
    I didn’t mention any names. If someone thinks I’m referring to them, I can’t help that.

    Comment by linusmann | April 12, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

