Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Building Blocks… Come Tumbling Down

While playing with wooden blocks the girl, AKA my daughter, decided to build a family… of houses.  Maybe this means she’ll be an architect or a therapist or an architectural therapist or a therapeutic architect or a flight attendant.

She started with a Mommy.  This one was strong and not too tall, just like her mother.  Then she had me build the Daddy house.  I built it strong and tall, but she made me change it to weak and tall for reasons unbeknown to me, especially because I’m not tall, I’m more of an averageish.  The baby house was next, which she referred to as a “he” so I knew it was supposed to be her brother even though he’s almost two.  If he’s lucky, he’ll be called the baby for the rest of his life because he’s the youngest, just like his daddy who’s still the “baby” with gray hair.

Last was the big sister house, which was a few blocks taller than the baby, but still shorter than the mommy and the daddy.  The girl’s scale was right on, except for the daddy house, of course.

When she finished with her city block she stood all the remaining blocks on end because she could.  I was afraid that she was going to hang Barbie heads from them to keep the rest of the toys away, but she had a better plan.  She had heard her brother, the “baby’, stirring on his monitor and decided he would enjoy knocking all the blocks down including the house family.  I was proud of her because she usually gets upset when he knocks her structures down.

We fetched the boy a minute later and brought him downstairs to do his best Godzilla impersonation.  I wanted my daughter to say “unleash Hell” on the video of this attack on all things civilized but my uncharacteristically better judgment won out and I just asked her to send him into the playroom.  My directing skills suck.

The blocks sent the boy into a frenzy.  He jumped up and down yelling, “Ooh, ooh!” and then proceeded to carefully walk around the plethora of blocks standing on their ends.  Not one fell.  Needless to say it didn’t make great video, especially with the build-up and the ooh, oohs.

When the boy did decide to interact with the tempting display before him, he just picked up the car shaped block, said, “car” and laughed.

Eventually the houses came down, but the homebuilder did all the demolishing.  The boy eventually did partake in the action when almost everything was already spread all over the family room.

It seemed like a letdown at first, but kids will do what kid’s want to do, especially if I tell them to do something else.

April 4, 2007 - Posted by | family, Humor, kids, life, parenthood, parenting

3 Comments »

  1. Kids are like cats that way. As soon as they figure out what you want them to do, they do the opposite.

    Comment by Diesel | April 5, 2007 | Reply

  2. Diesel,
    At least you can skin a cat, or so “they” say.

    Comment by linusmann | April 5, 2007 | Reply

  3. In several different ways, I hear.

    Come play in my caption contest!

    Comment by Diesel | April 7, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

