Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

She Doesn’t Mince Her Words

What comes out of my little girl’s mouth has astounded me many times because she uses polysyllabic words quite often, but her new trend’s completely different.  To put it bluntly, she’s blunt.

Her sippy cup was giving her trouble so she handed it to me and said, “it’s stuck”. 

The fact that someone in this world looks to me when they need a problem fixed equally thrills and scares me, so I pushed the existing lid back in place and gave it back to her.  I guess that would be the equivalent of smacking the side of the TV when the picture flips.  My daughter gave a suck on the lid and without skipping a beat slid the cup towards me.

“Still stuck.”

Enough said.  It’s great to see that this young lady of three is learning early in life to just say what she needs in a direct way.

I think that the next time a solicitor calls I’ll just put her on the phone and she’ll give him or her a quick not necessary or don’t need it and we can move on with our day without me buying aluminum siding or a new vacuum cleaner.

April 1, 2007 - Posted by | family, Humor, kids, life, parenthood, parenting

5 Comments »

  1. I was there for this incident and that was not what I heard her say. I believe it went something like “It’s Stuck” the first time and the second time was “Still Stuck”. And yes, it was rather funny the way she did it. Tootals

    Comment by The Good Uncle | April 2, 2007 | Reply

  2. GUnc,
    Thanks for the correction on my wording because I couldn’t remember for the life of me what exactly she said. The story has now been written more accurately.

    Keep in mind that this site is loosely based on fact so I do have the right to take liberties with the truth… to a certain point.

    Comment by linusmann | April 2, 2007 | Reply

  3. I commend your ability to include any truth in your posts at all. Mine are almost entirely made up of lies.

    Comment by Diesel | April 3, 2007 | Reply

  4. Diesel,

    Lies is a strong word, I prefer fabrications.

    Comment by linusmann | April 4, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hey, I happen to like that vacuum cleaner so much,I (well,Dad) went out and bought one. So much for telemarketers.

    Comment by The Grandmother | April 10, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

