Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Happy Barkday

Our dog turned five today so I thought it would be appropriate to pay homage to him.  We couldn’t ask for a better-behaved and more loving dog than our Golden Retriever.  No really, we tried, but the dog people said no.

This dog is a true member of the family… except when we go on vacation, usually.  We love him just as much as the kids… almost.  He never fails to amaze me… definitely.

Smart is an understatement in regards to our pup.  He will not touch the kids’ toys even if they are lying amongst his multitude of soggy, chewed up, limb missing playthings unless a person gives it to him directly.  He also has never chewed on our socks, shoes, underwear or chain mail unless we asked him to.  When he comes in the door he sits down on the tile until we wipe his paws.  That one took a while to sink into his furry little head, but dog treats and body blows can do wonders.  I’m kidding… about the dog treats.

The kids love playing with our pooch and he doesn’t mind a bit, even when they get a little rough.  I saw him twitching when my daughter was about nine months old and I couldn’t figure out what was wrong with him until I noticed that she was poking him in the eye.  He just sat there and took it right until I stopped her ten minutes later.

The K-9 does indeed love the kids because many times in the day I see him sidle into where they are and just lay down as close as possible.  It’s love or the hope of them dropping some sort of food or beverage, either one works for me.

I mentioned how smart he is but he does have momentary lapses of good judgment.  The other night on our way back from a walk I noticed a stray cat happily sauntering onto our lawn so I told our best friend to “get the kitty” and released him from the leash.  He darted across the street at full throttle and the cat hopped over the fence and ran into our yard.  The boy must have been focused in on one thing, the cat, because he slammed head first into the fence and bounced backwards about five feet.  Luckily, the only thing he seemed to hurt was his pride.

Happy birthday, big guy!  Cake’s at seven PM tonight for whoever’s interested.     

March 30, 2007 - Posted by | Dogs, family, Humor, kids, life

3 Comments »

  1. Teehee, I guess that cat won that battle. Golden’s are such great dogs, Happy B-day to him! 😉

    Comment by breederx | March 31, 2007 | Reply

  2. BreederX,
    I don’t look at it so much as the cat winning, but our dog choosing to let it go… this time… in his own way.

    I’ll relay the birthday wishes.

    Comment by linusmann | April 1, 2007 | Reply

  3. Yeah isn’t that the truth, lol, there’s a reason why the expression “top dog” is so used. Best wishes!

    Comment by breederx | April 1, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

