Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Twinkle, Twinkle Faux Pas

I would have to guess that nine out of ten people in the U.S. had Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star sung to them as a child and most parents sang it to their kids from time to time.  It’s pretty much a standard even though I don’t know why.  In my opinion that and Rock-a-bye Baby are highly overrated.  They must have known somebody to get so much airplay in the households of America and the world.

Last night our little girl quietly called out to us via her monitor that she couldn’t sleep.  She kept her voice low because she didn’t want to wake her little brother.  I’d like to think that it’s because she’s a very considerate child, but the cynical part of me surmises she wanted our attention all to herself, which is okay because she’s three.  The whisper out to us isn’t the norm, but was to be expected because of her *”sleep” withdrawal.

I told my wife that I’d take this one because I’m a wonderful husband and that the next time our daughter calls out we might be sleeping and my wife would have to get out of bed.  I walked into my daughter’s room and found her sitting up.

“What’s going on, Little One?”

“I can’t sleep and need your help.”

Her plea for help made me feel like Superman or at the least, one of the doctors from ER or Scrubs.

“What would you like me to do?”  Man, am I good.

“How about you sing me Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star?”

I hesitated a moment because that’s just not my usual choice of song.  My favorites are Old MacDonald, Hush Little Baby Don’t Say a Word, and Losing My Religion by R.E.M. but they wouldn’t work at the moment because the first would be too loud, the second too long and the third too freaking weird.

“Okay, honey, I’ll sing you the song.”

After the first line I knew that I was in trouble because I didn’t know the words.  How I can forget the words to a four-line song I don’t know.  Being the type of person that thinks on my feet I faked it.  I sang something close to what I thought were the lyrics, but when the second and third lines both had the word sky in it I knew I was off.  Luckily for me my daughter is kind hearted and seemed to enjoy my butchering of a classic.

I looked down at my little girl quite sheepishly and she smiled broadly at me.

“Thanks, Daddy, I can go to sleep now.”

I kissed her on the nose and floated out of the room.

* “sleep” see “Sleep” No More

March 5, 2007 - Posted by | All about me, family, Humor, kids, life, parenthood, parenting

2 Comments »

  1. You are my hero, I wish I could have been guided by your wisdom, both as a husband and a father years ago when my children were small. How thoughtful and considerate your wife must have though of you as you volunteered to help your sleepless child. We sill skip right over the part about how if your daughter wakes in the middle of the night, it will be your wife’s turn. This is a very important message to all guys, timing is so important. lol
    You are also teaching your daughter a very important lesson early in life. The female gender must learn to cope with and even put up with us males. We may not always get things right so it is important for them to appreciate when we try as you did with the song. lol. I mean effort should count for something.
    I am just kidding here, man, it is obvious you love your family very much and I am sure you are a good husband and father. I just love the way you write. Good job, please keep it up.
    Bill

    Comment by hudds53 | March 7, 2007 | Reply

  2. Bill,
    Thanks for the kudos. Believe me, I can be as timing-impaired as the next guy, but once in a while I hit it right.
    I’m glad that you enjoy my writing. Maybe someday I can get the stats you get. Wishful thinking, there.

    Thanks, again.

    Comment by linusmann | March 7, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

