Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Penalty Box

After my last post I realized that I haven’t written much about the boy in a while and it’s for good reason; he’s been in the penalty box.  Actually they call it Timeout.  Who they are I don’t know and I’m not sure why I’m following their advice because it doesn’t seem to be working.

Okay, he hasn’t been in Timeout the whole time, but the cushion on the chair is starting to wear out and that can’t possibly have anything to do with my extra large gluteus maximus occupying the same seat for dinner most nights.  For some reason he’s decided to stop listening to us and constantly attacks his big sister.  Some of you might have just cheered, because you remember how she treated him when he first came into the picture and you might think it’s payback time.  I think he’s more than made up for her past misdeeds by now.

I’m not sure where the attitude came from, but I swear the boy swaggers as if he’s the new sheriff in town.  The little gunslinger can send a car flying in his sister’s direction quicker than Wild Bill Hickok and he must think that hair pulling is a cool thing to do because he does it almost every chance he gets, just like his mother.  I’m kidding about that last one… at least since I cut my hair.

I hope know this is only a phase, but I wish it was over because every time he attacks I have to get up off the couch.  He’ll be two very soon, so I hope know things will get better.  Right?

March 3, 2007 - Posted by | family, Humor, kids, life, parenthood, parenting

3 Comments »

  1. I think about you guys often, thanks for getting back to your writing, it’s great to hear about you all while I’m over here. Makes me look forward to a family of my own. Just tell the female offspring to pull his hair when he pulls hers. Tit for tat! That should cure it, although you may have to grow his out in a mullet so she can get a good grip on it. You know what a mullet looks like, don’t you? You used to have one. ha ha!

    Comment by Aunt Weather | March 4, 2007 | Reply

  2. Well, we tried to warn your daughter about that but I guess it didn’t sink in to well. Kids just won’t listen when you shake them that hard. I think it messes with the hearing and it all just turns into gobbly gook. Hope the little tikes are keeping you busy. Enjoy

    G

    Comment by The Good Uncle | March 4, 2007 | Reply

  3. A.W.,
    You know that I can’t condone violence in my house. As for the mullett, I can’t remember that long ago.

    GUnc,
    What I do isn’t technically shaking, it’s more like a gentle rattle. It’s almost soothing.

    Comment by linusmann | March 4, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

