Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

The Sun is an Egg

I’ll be the first one to admit that I’m not very observant when it comes to scenery unless I accidentally crash into or fall on top of it, so I guess I’m lucky that I hang out with my daughter a lot because she’s not only aware of everything around her, but also sees it in her own pure and unaffected way.

On our way to Red Robin to eat some delicious high calorie burgers the other night she pointed something out to me that I never would have thought of.

“Daddy, the sun is an egg,” she said.

I asked her to repeat herself, because I only understood the egg part the first time around.  It wasn’t because she spoke jibberish, I just couldn’t comprehend the sun/egg connection.  It clicked when she said it again.

“That’s right little one, the sun does look like an egg,” I said.

If I don’t repeat what she said when we talk while I’m driving she’ll say it over and over and over.  I’ve learned my lesson… the hard way.

“Daddy, the sun looks like the yolk.  The yellow oak.”

“The yellow yolk?” I asked.

“No Daddy, the yellow oak.”

I could live with that so I let it slide.  Besides, why not let her think that the Y in yolk is for yellow.  She’ll get with the program when the time comes.

March 2, 2007 - Posted by | Humor, kids, life, parenthood, parenting, Ranting

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

