Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

My Girl’s a (Girly) Girl

“My favorite color’s pink.”

For most parents of little girls that’s probably a commonly heard declaration, but it’s not at my house.  My daughter’s favorite color has been blue ever since she’s been able to speak.  Pink has only been a color that a lot of her clothes were and the color of the barely used bowls in the cupboard.  The blue bowls are rather worn out.

Whenever given a choice, it’s blue, except maybe when picking out a vegetable, and that’s only because we can’t find a blue one out there.  The only blue thing that comes to mind that she doesn’t like is blue cheese, which is fine because that leaves more for my wife and me.  We should probably try it as a dip instead of just eating out of the jar because I heard it compliments wings nicely.

The other day the universe went out of whack when she decided that pink was better than blue.  I had to ask her to repeat herself many times and considered giving the three-year-old a Breathalyzer to help provide me with a rational explanation to this sudden change of preference.  There really wasn’t one, but I knew that everything would be okay.

After I accepted my new daughter for who she is I thought about what kind of changes were going to take place around the house.  Did this mean that we’d have to dust off the dolls that usually lay discarded in the corner of the room piled six deep like victims of an 80’s European soccer riot?  Would we have to take the plastic off of all those princess DVDs that she’s wanted no part of?  Maybe she’ll even stop playing with dinosaurs and toy cars.  Her brother would like that.

I know that this isn’t as big of a deal as I’m making it out to be, but that’s only because I do have a son and when he learns how to have a favorite color it will be pink blue… just like Daddy says.

March 1, 2007 - Posted by | family, Humor, kids, life, parenthood, parenting

2 Comments »

  1. Just love this comment, it brings back so many nice memories. Thank you for your wit and humour
    Bill

    Comment by hudds53 | March 2, 2007 | Reply

  2. BIll,
    Thanks for the compliment, again. I’m glad you liked it.

    Comment by linusmann | March 3, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

