Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

“Sleep” No More

Our little girl has reached yet another milestone, she finally ceased sleeping with a pacifier.  This one was a little later than it should have been, but that’s our fault because we felt that it made our lives a little easier since she’s such a good sleeper while using it. 

Her trip to the dentist was a wake up call.  Both, the dental hygienist and the dentist knew that she either slept with a pacifier or sucked her thumb just from looking at her overbite.  They said if we stop it now everything will be fine.  That was enough for us my wife to act immediately.  She took the bull by the horns even though I wasn’t there the first night and it worked.  This was no small task for my little girl because it’s all she’s known since she was an infant and she loved that little rubber thing more than ice cream and her animals combined, except her real doggy (I think).  She associated it so much with sleeping that she named it “sleep”.  If you want to know what it must be like to stop doing something that you’ve been doing for most of your life try sleeping without a pillow… forever.

The little trooper hasn’t complained at all, but is a little sad which is understandable because I can’t imagine what I’d do if someone took my security blanket away.  I’m kidding, I don’t need my GI JOE with KUNG FU GRIP; I just like it.

I’m very proud of both of the double X chromosome carriers in my home.  My wife chose to do this on a night that I was working even though she had to get up very early the next morning and my daughter decided that she could handle this trying situation without a single tear or complaint.  I guess my boy and I should feel privileged to share a roof with two strong women that aren’t afraid of challenges.  Which I’m not afraid of either, as long as I’m not inconvenienced or made to feel uncomfortable.

February 28, 2007 - Posted by | family, Humor, kids, life, parenthood, parenting

4 Comments »

  1. I had to stop in for a visit after reading you kind comment on my blog. I am really glad I did. You are such a naturally good writer and write with such humor about things all Dads can relate to. Please keep it up.
    As you have read my site is about dealing with death and can get a little serious sometimes. I hope you don’t mind if I blog role you, so more can benefit from your writing
    Thank you for sharing
    Bill

    Comment by hudds53 | February 28, 2007 | Reply

  2. Bill,
    Thanks for stopping by and for the kind words. I’d be honored if you blog roled me, just try to be gentle. I hope you don’t mind if I put you on my blogroll, too.

    Comment by linusmann | February 28, 2007 | Reply

  3. It was one of the saddest things to see beside the possibility of seeing her walk down the ‘aisle’ someday. I was in dire need of a tissue when I exited her bedroom that night. Aside from being labeled the one who broke her ‘sleep’, I guess it was no small feat for my darling granddaughter to have to give that up and she needed to lay the blame for the sleep’s demise somewhere. I have good shoulders.

    Comment by The Grandmother | March 3, 2007 | Reply

  4. […] * “sleep” see “Sleep” No More […]

    Pingback by Twinkle, Twinkle Faux Pas « Pessimistic Optimism | March 5, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

