Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Green Mints

Pretend cooking has been a past time for my daughter since she was in diapers.  Oh yeah, she’s still in diapers… only when she sleeps… it saves us from having to wash the sheets daily.  Her latest is baking pies on a metallic coaster.  They’re invisible, but quite tasty.  She usually lets me choose the flavor.  I chose the apple one today even though the car one sounded good, too.  The boy joined in on the fake eating and the smile on his face told me I chose wisely.

Whatever she’s “making” has to go through the preparing process.  For the longest time I couldn’t understand why everything needed green mints.  It just didn’t sound right, especially since her favorite color is blue.  I went along with it because who knows why kids do what they do until I had an “epiphany”; green mints was ingredients. 

“Everything needs ingredients.” 

I just didn’t understand what she was saying.  This is surprising because in my biased opinion she usually speaks very clearly.  I’m glad I figured this out because the pretend pies, sandwiches and coffee taste much better now without the green mints and they probably have less calories. 

February 15, 2007 - Posted by | Humor, kids, parenthood, parenting

3 Comments »

  1. I love green mints in my sandwich-what are you talking about?! Oh yea, the MP3 player is for you…for when you run or when you don’t want to even pretend you’re listening to your wife. Now you just have to figure out how to get the music on there. Good luck!

    Comment by Aunt Weather | February 16, 2007 | Reply

  2. A.W.,
    You’ve never had these green mints.

    Thanks for the MP3 player, I already have it loaded up. Okay, I’m lying, but it’s charged and ready to go.

    Comment by linusmann | February 16, 2007 | Reply

  3. charged? you mean you put the batteries in the back, right? Make sure you include some Katrina and the Waves on there-I know they’re your favorite one hit wonder band.

    Comment by Aunt Weather | February 17, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

