Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Superbowl Woes

I’m a football fan and enjoy the Super Bowl as much as most people, but it brings back bad memories from the early ’90’s.  Yes, I’m a Buffalo Bills fan.  Many of us try to convince ourselves that it was great just getting there four years in a row, but that’s just a rationalization to keep us sane.  I try to block out the bad stuff, like Norwood’s wide left, Thurman’s missing helmet, and me crying in the fetal position in the bathtub, but reminders come out of the woodwork this time of year.  Yesterday, I turned on ESPN just in time to see the football just miss the goal post and witness Bill Parcells being carried across the field with a huge grin on his face.  This rebroadcast brought that feeling of eating three spicy burritos in less than ten minutes back to my stomach.

Since the Bills aren’t there, again, I’m hoping to enjoy the game for what it usually is, an over-exposed spectacle of hopefully funny commercials often interrupted by some poorly played football.  I love that the winners of this usually lopsided contest are declared the world champions even though all the teams play in the U.S.  Do sports leagues in other countries make similar proclamations?  For instance, does the Nigerian Shoeless Sprinting League declare their race winner the world champion shoeless runner?  Or does the Fiji Clam Shucker Association declare the best shucker a world champion?  I really don’t know, but I doubt it.

I think I’m just jaded because my beloved Bills have never been deemed world champions.  The way they played the second half of the season shows me that we still have hope they’ll make it someday.  Unfortunately, it usually only takes a few games in the beginning of the season to say maybe next year.  Go Bills!

My pick for this year is the Kevin Federline commercial, er, I mean, the Colts by more than ten. 

February 2, 2007 - Posted by | All about me, Buffalo, football

2 Comments »

  1. I just hope they PLAY the commercials over here. If they don’t, what’s the point of even having the day off of work? Yea that’s right, I get Superbowl Monday off…I can get drunk at 8am and no one here will think twice.

    Comment by Aunt Weather | February 2, 2007 | Reply

  2. A.W,
    If they don’t show the commercials you can be the maid for whoever you watch the game with. Why make someone get up if they might miss a play or two and if don’t give a $%#% about the game.
    At least you have the day off and can consume whatever beverage you desire. Enjoy!

    Comment by linusmann | February 2, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

