Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

What’s Your Mission?

Repetition seems to be an ongoing trend with our daughter and occasionally, it’s actually amusing.  I’m not talking about the non-stop MOMMY, MOMMY, MOMMY at the top of her lungs because that’s a little annoying, especially if you’re not mommy.  Another aggravating repetitious act is when she repeats what she said until someone answers her.  I like to encourage this when I want to drive a houseguest a little nuts, but it usually gets under my skin first. 

The other day she was stuck on a particular saying that I liked.

“What’s your mission?”

I don’t know where she learned it, but she asked this of her little brother and me throughout the day.  Even though she repeated herself she did it in an intelligent manner, because she waited until I completed the current mission until she asked again.  We had numerous missions that day: change their clothes; go to the store; go to the bank; tickle them senseless; sing the ABC’s; read Hannibal Rising by Thomas Harris to them; and feed them lunch.  I think she asked between every one of them and it made me feel interesting because of all the attention.

The good and the bad repetition will most likely double soon because the boy’s saying more and more words everyday and he’ll be able to form a sentence into question before we know it.  I can’t wait.  I need to develop that ability that lets a parent tune out his or her child when he or she is driving everyone else insane.  Maybe my wife can teach me how because she already had that skill before we had kids from dealing with me.

January 30, 2007 - Posted by | kids, parenthood, parenting

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

