Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Morning Dance Party; X-Mas Style

The Children and I decided to turn it up a notch the other morning and get our Christmas rock on.  Okay, Okay, I turned on the stereo and started singing and dancing during breakfast with the hope that the kids would join in.  My little girl, whom happens to enjoy the spotlight, responded differently then I expected she would.  The conversation went something like this.

“C’mon little girl, let’s dance and sing,” I said.

“The baby car can’t dance well,” she replied.

“Baby cars are very good dancers.”

“No, Daddy, they can’t dance well.”

Without ever being a baby car, as my daughter obviously was one at the moment, how could I dispute her adamant claim?

The boy had no problem joining in, but it was at a cost.  He had oatmeal on his hands and decided to rub it in his hair while dancing.  The oddest thing about that was that we hadn’t had oatmeal in weeks.  The boy’s almost as good of a dancer as me, if that tells you something.  I think my brother in Florida might have taught him some of his moves. 

After a little while the baby car moved on and my daughter joined in on the fun, smiling the whole time.  This justified my forfeiture of grace and dignity.  As long as I made one child happy… blah, blah, blah.

Once I had both children with me I encouraged some singing.  Hopefully my kids have poor hearing because I sound worse than William Hung on his best day.  Jingle Bell Rock went okay because I actually, um, er, know most of the words and Rocking Around the Christmas Tree was fun because my daughter seemed to really like it.  I didn’t know the next song, which was sung by Barbara StreisandCeline Dion, or Kenny Rogers, it’s hard to tell the difference.  Because of this buzz kill of a tune, we cleaned ourselves up and got on with more important things, like playing with toys and taking naps and eating chocolate and candy canes.
 

December 22, 2006 - Posted by | Humor, kids, parenthood

2 Comments »

  1. Barbara Streisand sings Christmas songs? That’s a little hypocritical, isn’t it? I mean, you don’t go around singing Bad Boys Bad Boys whatcha gonna do…it would go completely against your morals. She must have sold her soul to make a couple of bucks. I hope it was worth it.

    Comment by Aunt Weather | December 23, 2006 | Reply

  2. Didn’t you buy your Dad a Neil Diamond X-mas cd? That’s pretty much the same thing.

    The mighty dollar can persuade the most pious of us (Babs & me) to compromise our values on occasion.

    Comment by linusmann | December 23, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

