Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

No! Don’t Touch!

It’s that time of the year again and we’re facing the same problems as two years ago, but it’s a lot worse.  Our son wants to “play” with all the Christmas decorations around the house… all the time.  What 20 month-old kid doesn’t want to examine all the shiny new things in his world?  Hell, I want to examine all the shiny new things in my world.  A good slap was the way I learned not to touch the things that I shouldn’t but that just doesn’t fly anymore so we’ll have to think of something else.    

We hoped that he would get over it quickly, but it seems to get worse by the day.  I’m sick of saying “no” and “don’t touch” all day long, but let’s leave my wife out of this.  The boy is ten times worse than his sister was around his age.  At least that’s the way I remember it.

It’s gotten to the point that by noon half of the decorations are on the kitchen table because I didn’t want him to get a complex from hearing “no” so often before he’s a teenage boy.  All that did was send him to the DVD and CD racks.  His favorite ones to pluck out are my wife’s Sex and the City DVD’s.  There might be more to this than I thought but he’ll have to discuss that with his shrink because the last thing I want is my kids telling me their problems.

I think life would be easier this time of year if someone didn’t puke Christmas all over our house, but then it wouldn’t have that festive feeling.  It’s probably good for my son to explore his territory because it’ll keep me on my toes.  It also keeps me from writing more obnoxious stories about him and his sister.  Maybe that’s his master plan to prevent me from embarrassing him later in life.  Good luck!   

December 11, 2006 - Posted by | Humor, kids, parenthood

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

