Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

No!

The number one thing on my daughter’s “To Do” list today must have been screw with daddy.  She seemed to refuse most of my requests throughout the day.

“Pick up your toys.”

“No.”

“Sit on the potty.”

“No.”

“Eat some lunch.”

“No.”

“Do the dishes.”

“No.”

She eventually did all of the above with the exception of the dishes, but not after some kicking and screaming… mostly mine.

I must have it too easy on most days because it really bothered me that she defied my orders.  Doesn’t she understand the parent/child rule whatever the parent says goes?  Maybe she just feels like questioning authority (me).  I hope it’s only a phase because I’m not used to having to work at this parenting thing.

The only nice thing about these altercations is that they don’t last too long.  This is when the questions pop in my head about how I should act.  Should I discuss the frequency of her insolence or should I just go on with the day.  I’d decided to use my old philosophy what would Britney Spears do and went on with the day like nothing happened.

December 1, 2006 - Posted by | kids, parenthood, parenting, Ranting

1 Comment »

  1. And the defiance begins. Who teaches them this word and its meaning? Could you do me a favor and get her out of this habit before I come home, I planned on having her give me foot rubs and bringing me margaritas while I was visiting. j/k miss you guys! Keep up the great work!

    Comment by Aunt Weather | December 2, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

