Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Needy Writers

Are all writers needy or do they just act that way?  Am I needy or do I just act that way?

The children and I travelled to the mall last night to buy some X-mas gifts while my wife partied dined with her friends.  The boy was strapped into a stroller and the girl walked beside me either helping push (teamwork! see Is That Teamwork?) or holding my hand.

The journey was somewhat uneventful until we ran into a self-published children’s author that I purchased a book from a while ago.  I told her that my daughter enjoys the book, which she does, but only the pictures (I didn’t tell her this part).  This is when I saw the needy side of a writer emerge.  She showed the three-year-old the book and said, “I’m the one that wrote the words in your book.”  She might as well said, “I’m the one that poured the milk in your glass.” 

 My daughter looked toward me and asked, “Can I have a toy, Daddy?”

The woman looked offended and I explained that my daughter doesn’t get the concept of her writing the book.  That’s when the author and her husband said in unison, “she will.  She will.”

It was kind of creepy the way these people wanted reassurance from a three-year-old.  I hope I never get that way with my writing.  I wouldn’t expect that from anyone under twelve. 

November 30, 2006 - Posted by | All about me, kids, parenthood, Ranting, Writing

3 Comments »

  1. urgh, what’s up with writers like that?

    i’m no writer myself, but i did write a short storybook for a class project. i don’t think i’ll be too anxious to point out it’s mine and ask for reassuring feedback when it’s displayed during our annual open day!

    Comment by sulz | November 30, 2006 | Reply

  2. Hmm, you’re right about the creepy part.
    I’m an insecure writer myself, and keep asking for feedback when the book is still in a rather raw stage, it doesn’t always work well for the story.
    I hope nobody buys my book just for the pictures, but then, nice pictures can make people buy the book.

    Comment by vintagefan | November 30, 2006 | Reply

  3. Sulz,
    The worst part of this situation is that I know where she was coming from. It’s twisted, but understandable.

    Vintagefan,
    Feedback for a writer is almost as important as oxygen, but this woman expected a little too much from a small child. Unfortunately for this author, the most enjoyable part of her book was the artwork (which she didn’t do).

    Comment by linusmann | November 30, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

