Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Giving In

Am I always supposed to give up my cherry?  Let me rephrase that, when my daughter asks for the cherry off of my piece of my mother’s delicious cherry cake am I obligated to give it to her?  The other night I kept it for myself for the first time and I feel guilty about it.  The cake was there for my birthday so I thought I could finally enjoy the “fruits” of my labor.

I guess the real question here is are we supposed to give everything we have that they like to them?  I hope not because that would help create spoiled little monsters and that’s the grandparents’ job.  Little things like cherries, lemon slices, and fireworks are okay, but where should we draw the line?

“Daddy, I want that knife.”

“No my little angel, you might hurt yourself.”

“I want it!!!”

“Okay, but be careful.”

That wasn’t a real conversation between my daughter and me, but you get the idea.  It was actually my wife giving in to me.  The calling her “Daddy” part is none of your business.

This parenting thing can be confusing.  I’ll just have to weigh each situation out on my own and hope that I make the right choices when it comes to giving in to my children and hope that I don’t screw them up too much. 

November 21, 2006 - Posted by | Humor, kids, parenthood

2 Comments »

  1. Dave, Happy belated Birthday. I talked to my mom earlier today, she mentioned they went to your house to celebrate the gray hair and gut.

    As for giving in… it must be really hard not to give them everything they ask for. I forget how my parents were with us in that respect. They definitely gave us a lot, more than we deserved, I’m sure.

    The grandparents should definitely be the spoilers…it was always nice being 8 years old & asking grandpa for a genny, he never said no! One of my sisters (who will go nameless), also blamed her childhood weight issue on a grandmother who would never say no (funny thing, that grandmother would also allow her to wear her granny underwear!).

    Comment by Mike | November 21, 2006 | Reply

  2. Mike,
    Thanks for the b-day wishes and yes it’s hard not to give them whatever they want (especially if it shuts them up).
    Keep your deranged grandparental memories to yourself… please! Those are my parents you’re talking about.

    Comment by linusmann | November 24, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

