Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Gray Hair and a Gut are Okay (for me)

I’m not sure if you know this about me, I have kids, young kids.  Don’t be so shocked, many “gray haired” gentlemen start having families after the original pigmentation of their hair has left the building.  It gives the offspring the misguided idea that their father is wiser than he really might be.  I’m not going to tell you what the “gut” around my waist tells them except that Mommy’s a good cook and Daddy eats well at work, too.  This leads me to the question I’ve been asking myself in regards to raising children, “is it better to give them the impression that their parents do everything for the good of mankind and have no faults with the exception of the fore mentioned gray hair and the gut inside my 36-waist jeans or should we be honest and let all our my faults be displayed in front of them to show that mistakes are a realistic part of life?”

The question was rhetorical so let me do the explaining here, please.  I think that the kids should not be exposed to any of my faults or they’ll think less of me and my ego can’t take that and it’s important for children to have strong role models.  I’m Superman to these little terrorizers and I’d like to keep it that way for at least the next twenty-five years or so.  This might take a little hard work and a lot of fibbing but I think we can pull it off if we join together.  The only thing I’ll need from all of you is to treat me like I’m better than everyone else.  Before you scoff at this just keep in mind that it’s for the kids.

It will be acceptable for you to always put me on a pedestal even if the kids aren’t around to get everyone used to it.  Thank you in advance for your support regarding this matter.   

November 16, 2006 - Posted by | All about me, Humor, kids, parenthood, parenting, Ranting

9 Comments »

  1. I can post comments again!

    Remember that what you have posted here will live on the internet forever. As soon as your kids figure out the internet and how to read well enough to determine your secrets, on top of the power of Google… they will find this post!

    Did I ruin it for you?

    Comment by Mike | November 16, 2006 | Reply

  2. Yeah, We’ll put you on your Pedestial…you PremaDona
    But just remember what an easier Target you make when you sit so High up.

    Comment by The Good Uncle | November 17, 2006 | Reply

  3. Happy Birthday to the gray haired fatboy. And many more to come. You should be out there totin’ those hoses and ladders more often and then you just might loose the gut.

    Don’t worry about being on the pedestal for now, but once your kids become teenagers, you’ll be the biggest dummy on the block.

    But once they leave home and live on their own, you’ll quickly be elevated to your former lofty position.

    Comment by The Wizardess | November 17, 2006 | Reply

  4. Is your pedestal somewhere in the vicinity of the shower?

    Comment by Aunt Weather | November 17, 2006 | Reply

  5. Mike,
    Glad you can post comments again. My kids finding this post is the least of my worries when they start using the internet. Have you seen what kind of crazy stuff is on the information superhighway?

    G. Unc,
    For some reason I think you’re being facetious. See you next weekend.

    Wizardess or Goddess (whomever you are),
    Thanks for the wishes. I’ve been trying to hump hose and raise ladders but I think our local firebug is on a well earned vacation (it was a very busy summer). My kids will never think I’m a “dummy”. Ha, ha!

    A.W.,
    Keep your comments out of the toilet. When I’m alone with the kids that’s not even a sanctuary let alone a pedestal.

    Comment by linusmann | November 17, 2006 | Reply

  6. Happy Birthday To a great SIL…do I dare call at 2am? LOL…I will sanely call later… only for my dear daughter’s sake mind you. With love and best wishes…Your MIL

    Comment by The Grandmother | November 17, 2006 | Reply

  7. MIL,
    Thanks… for the sentiment and the no call.

    Comment by linusmann | November 18, 2006 | Reply

  8. Be honest! Teach your children that it is okay not to be perfect, it’s okay to cry, laugh, and be angry…. Be the good role model.. Including hugs, kisses, and an everyday I love You! In the eyes of a child Dad is THE super-hero!
    After all a father does the very best that he can for his children. Everyone makes mistakes that how we end up with what is called (experience) Somedays Dad feels like he is a super-hero, while other days he may feel like the failure. In the eyes of your children you will always be the hero! So be loving and listen, somedays you will be the teacher and other days you will be the student. Most of all enjoy each day because before you know it they are raised and you are wishing for one more minute of their childhood!

    Comment by Brenda | February 7, 2007 | Reply

  9. Brenda,
    Thanks for the advice. Because of you, I will now be a good parent. LOL.

    Thanks for reading the post, too.

    Comment by linusmann | February 7, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

