Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

A Night at the Opera (not exactly)

My kids and their parents shared a new experience yesterday, a kiddie’s concert by The Wiggles.  We weren’t sure how they would handle the spectacle especially since it started during the usual naptime, but they were troopers and actually had a great time… and so did we.

We tried to explain to our three-year-old what the show would be like and she asked if she’d be sitting on their laps.  We said not this time or ever.  In her eyes they are people that she knows like Dora or Big Bird.

Excitement was in the air as we arrived at the arena and the kids looked pretty happy, too.  It shocked me to see how many other fathers were there since it was during a Buffalo Bills game, but then again the Bills aren’t having a good season or decade for that matter.  Kids in Wiggles costumes carried their probably overpriced souvenirs with glee.  It’s amazing how many people turn out to see four grown men known by their colors of blue, yellow, red and purple and for what they do, eat, do magic, play guitar and sleep.  I know way too much about these guys.

Our daughter looked like a deer in the headlights for the first few minutes of the show.  She wasn’t afraid, but did have an over stimulated look on her face.  She joined in on the fun before we knew it.  The boy didn’t hesitate at all.  He kept saying car when the Big Red Car drove out on the stage.  He looked at it and looked back at me and grinned.  Then he smacked me in the face, but that had nothing to do with the show.

Both kids ended up dancing in front of our seats for half the show.  The cast has the enviable ability to keep small children interested for a long time.  It impressed me enough to want to bring them home with us.  Well maybe not home, but in the front yard or the driveway where the kids can see them out the window.  When I would get tired or insane I could make the group sing a song and act silly for the kids and I’d get a much-needed break.  I know this is unrealistic because these bastards are filthy rich and deservedly so but it’s nice to dream.

The kids managed to remain awake for the whole show, with the boy getting a little fussy here and there.  All in all it was worth the $97.00 a ticket and the $6.00 waters because a great time was had by all.  

November 7, 2006 - Posted by | Buffalo, kids, parenthood, Television

4 Comments »

  1. $97 a ticket and $6 waters? what no beer? you must really love your kids to go through all that and remain sober..or did you? Maybe I’ll get you a flask for Christmas.

    Comment by Aunt Weather | November 7, 2006 | Reply

  2. I do not drink in front of my kids… as far as they know.

    Comment by linusmann | November 8, 2006 | Reply

  3. I’ve seen you with a sippy cup full of genny creamers.

    I can’t wait til the wiggles come to China… I used to watch those types of shows with my little sister, Barney is probably my all time favorite. I bet I still remember some the songs…which wiggle’s song is your favorite?

    Comment by Mike | November 9, 2006 | Reply

  4. I take that as an insult, I drink Genny Dry.

    My favorite song is ‘Fruit Salad’. I’ll put a link to it on my site because you have to hear it. It’s got a great beat and it’s easy to dance to.

    Comment by linusmann | November 9, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

