Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Repercussions are Inevitable

The pecking order has been challenged in my household recently.  My wife’s inner strength and resolve kept me in check, though.  Actually the problem isn’t with me, both kids are testing the waters in their own ways.  It seems that Mother, Father, Older Sister, Younger Brother, and Dog just isn’t cutting it any longer for either of them.

My daughter has always been relatively easy to handle, especially since she’s only about 36 pounds, but she has decided to test my authority.  I can definitely take her if it comes down to that, but enough about my physical prowess.  She occasionally decides to tell me “no” when I “ask” her to do something.  I guess she thinks I’ll accept it and move along even though that has never happened in any of these incidents.  They all have had one of two outcomes, she does what I said to do or she goes to bed or the time-out chair, which I’ve been thinking about adding thumbtacks to because she is possibly starting to enjoy it.  If I look at her act of defiance positively she does think for herself.

My son’s goal doesn’t seem as lofty on the surface; he wants to be equal with his sister.  My precious angel can be a tough little cookie so she won’t yield easily.  I’m starting to think that this confrontation has been in the works for a while.  The big sister used to do things to her brother when he didn’t have the ability to defend himself or to strike back.  This has all changed since he’s been nimble afoot; he’s usually the aggressor these days.  I can’t blame the boy because my daughter needs to know that there are repercussions to most misdeeds.

I think the best solution to all of this might be for me to come to the realization that the actual pecking order in our family is Mother, Daughter and Son, Dog and I.  It’s not that I’m complaining I just need to know my place.    

November 4, 2006 - Posted by | kids, parenthood

2 Comments »

  1. Glad to see that Wilson was upgraded. Though don’t the kids rather enjoy being crated with him? Or have you stopped that sort of punishment of late? Next time she says NO just do what her Grandma used to do to use, Palmolive soap. Besides freshening her up, she will also become fairly regular.
    Later G

    Comment by The Good Uncle | November 6, 2006 | Reply

  2. Goodie,
    The kids do enjoy being crated with him but he can’t get out of there fast enough when they crawl in. He’s kind of a baby when it comes to being poked in the eye and having his ears pulled.
    As for the Palmolive soap treatment, we’ll wait until the kids mimic one of our relatives that doesn’t watch their mouth in front of them.

    Comment by linusmann | November 7, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

