Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Broken Like Trees

I’m not sure if the recent events in Western New York have had any effect on my daughter.

“Daddy, my crayons are broken like trees,” my daughter said.

“I see that,” I said.  “It looks like a lot of broken trees.”

“Let me shake them up and watch them fall,” she said. 

Every tree on our property has broken limbs hanging from them or are stripped down to the wood where the branches used to be. 

“Daddy, does the radio have power?”

“Yes, it does, Little One.”

“Daddy, does the TV have power?”

“Yes, it does, Little One.”

We were without power for almost five days.  Luckily the grandparents on both sides could take the family in during this little inconvenience.

These minor changes in our daughter’s way of thinking are definitely manageable.  I couldn’t imagine what children absorb when they go through a serious hardship. 

We’re lucky because we were able to maintain a positive attitude, especially in front of the kids, and actually had a lot of fun during the surprise storm of October 12th and 13th and its aftermath.  We just did what we had to do and it kept us sane… in front of the kids.   

October 22, 2006 - Posted by | blizzard, kids, parenthood, Power Outage

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

