Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Tough Girl

I just received the news that my little girl got hurt today.  Thankfully it’s nothing too serious.  She tripped and fell and her tooth went through her lip.  From what I’ve been told it sounds worse than it is.  That’s easy for anyone but her to say, but I believe it because I had the privilege of speaking to my little angel on the phone before my wife arrived to take her to get checked out.

“Daddy, I hurt my lip,” she said.  “I’m going to the hopistal with Mommy.”

She has a good vocabulary but fortunately she hasn’t had to know the word hospital until now.  She sounded cheerful on the phone and acted like her usual amusing self during our brief conversation.

The trip to the hospital is precautionary because from the description I received from my M-I-L and my wife is that the cut is very small but all the way through.  I knew that my daughter could handle some pain from watching her skin her knee and not shed a tear.  She usually pulls herself up, brushes herself off, and keeps on running.  Sorry for the momentary parental bragging.  I guess she cried a little this time, but who wouldn’t when something penetrates your lip area and comes out the other side.

Right now I’m waiting on word from my wife from the hospital.  So far the doctor told her that stitches probably aren’t necessary and that they want to check out her tooth.  I feel guilty because I’m not with them because I’m still at work.  Hopefully they won’t have to sit around there much longer and I can spoil my daughter rotten with a new dinosaur or animal and spoil my wife with… you get the idea.

My wife and I have been parents for a little more than three years now and this is the first hospital visit.  Not bad for a couple of amateurs.  Maybe we should go pro… whatever that means. 

October 12, 2006 - Posted by | kids, parenthood

4 Comments »

  1. Save her the pain of doing it later, let her get her lip pierced now! What’s done is done, ya know?! She’ll be the coolest pre-schooler around! (not that she isn’t already)

    Comment by Aunt Weather | October 12, 2006 | Reply

  2. Sounds like a tough little girl!

    Comment by Tim | October 17, 2006 | Reply

  3. A.W.,

    DON’T give her any ideas… please.

    Tim,

    Tough but sweet.

    Comment by linusmann | October 19, 2006 | Reply

  4. […] I had one task on my mind while I walked in the house; I wanted a hug from my daughter because she just got back from the hospital (see Tough Girl).  She ran to me and squeezed me even tighter than I squeezed her.  She was okay and that made me okay.  My wife and I already decided that we’re going to get winter coats for the kids this night because everyone will get them real soon because of the early snowfall.  We had no idea that most people and stores weren’t going to have power for quite a while because none of this was predicted by any of the local weather forecasters.  If they did think it might happen they kept it to themselves.  I wish I had a job with that big of an allowable margin of error. […]

    Pingback by No More Power… for a long while (part one) « Pessimistic Optimism | October 19, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

