Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Leaves a Fallin’

Nature creates a lot of busy work this time of year.  It is mostly raking leaves and battening down the hatches for the oncoming winter.  There are quite a few trees on and around our property and they sadistically stagger the release times for their leaves.  Which in turn spreads the raking season out over a long period of time.  This wouldn’t be so bad if it wasn’t for some external factors: my children.  For some reason they love to play in the piles of leaves.

The act of raking can be a peaceful and enjoyable activity… up to a point.  After three good piles I’ve had enough.  I often do this chore while the kids are napping and take them outside a little while later.  Even though there are numerous things to do in our yard they are magnetically pulled to the piles of leaves.  The joy on their faces when they take that first leap into the rotting tree droppings is priceless.  So is the first scream of pain when they get stabbed in the side with a broken stick that I carelessly raked into the pile.

My daughter likes to cover her and her brother in as many leaves as possible, which means that a mandatory bath must be given that evening.  So much for watching Jeopardy that night.  Our son is new to the leaves game, but he jumped right in, literally.  He loves running them through his fingers and occasionally tasting the different flavors such as maple, ash, oak, dirt and worm.  Each one seems to please him because he repeats the process quite often.

Don’t get me wrong here, I enjoy watching my children having fun, but the piles start spreading out the longer they play in them and before I know it all my hard work is destroyed.  Maybe I should designate one pile as the play pile and the rest off limits.  Yeah, that will work.  Try telling an eighteen month old that he can’t jump in that pile even though it’s just like this pile.  He’s usually reasonable, but that’s asking for much.  Oh yeah, he’s hardly ever reasonable and is free spirited.  That’s the politically correct term for a wild man who likes to get into everything.

I guess it’s my fault for taking the kids outside when they should be in the house playing video games or watching Robots, again.

October 11, 2006 - Posted by | Humor, kids, parenthood

6 Comments »

  1. Sounds like the perfect time to find some neighborhood kid and pay him $10 to rake all of your leaves. I had a neighbor that used to sucker me & my brothers into raking her big ass yard for about $10. We also used to cut her big ass lawn for $10. If she wasn’t old, I would have told her to go to hell. Although, I think we all eventually did when we simply stopped showing up & she had to find another sucker to do her dirty work

    I would still enjoy jumping in leaves today. The leaves are beginning to fall in China. I bet I can find 10 Chinese guys to gather up a massive pile of leaves for me to jump in … the cost… maybe $1 USD.

    Comment by Mike | October 12, 2006 | Reply

  2. Mike,
    I’m sorry to hear how you and your brothers were used back in the ’90’s, but in suburban ’06 I can’t find a kid to do this kind of chore for less than $20. Why should they when their parents give them the money for doing nothing.

    When my kids get a little older I’ll make them do it, but I’ll have to wait until their five or six for it to be done competently.

    I’ll give the 10 Chinese guys another buck if they film you jumping in the leaves in a speedo and a belly shirt (When is belly shirt season over?).

    Comment by linusmann | October 12, 2006 | Reply

  3. Jeez, now I feel old…$20 to rake some leaves!

    I myself will add another $10 if they can get me to pinch my nipples like the weird guy from “The Waterboy”, while wearing a belly shirt & a speedo (belly shirt season is officially over…unless we get a heat wave. I failed to get a picture, will have to try next year).

    Comment by Mike | October 12, 2006 | Reply

  4. I really enjoy your “take” on parenting. I believe that your being older than me before you had children has made a differnce. I’m not sure if you know what I’m trying to say, but just enjoy them — they grow up too fast!

    Comment by Uncle Terry | October 18, 2006 | Reply

  5. “Uncle” Terry,

    I’m glad someone enjoys this drivel and thanks for the compliment… I think :).

    Comment by linusmann | October 19, 2006 | Reply

  6. I was complimenting you — you really “see” and observe your children and get to enjoy them fully.

    Comment by Uncle Terry | October 19, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

