Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Wall Banger

Our son has a new hobby.  If it’s a sign of what’s to come in his older years we’re in trouble.  He’ll be the next Evel Knievel or Robby Knievel or Fonzie.  Yes, he’s a daredevil.  Uh, oh!  I just thought of something worse than having a daredevil for a son.  He might be a Jackass in training.

The other night he put a plastic bucket over his head and started walking around, usually into walls or furniture.  He couldn’t get enough of it and neither could we.  It was hilarious.  He couldn’t see a thing and kept traveling around the kitchen until he’d get knocked down.  It didn’t matter how hard he fell, he got back up and put his helmet back on.

He must get this from my wife’s side of the family because mine is too normal.  Who am I trying to kid; he’s a reincarnation of me, except that I’m still alive.  I’ve been doing stupid stuff for years, mostly verbal, you know foot-in-mouth disease, but I have done a few extreme sports in the past.  When I was a kid I rode a toy ladder on wheels down a full staircase into the kitchen table… on purpose.  This isn’t bragging so much as it is defending my wife’s honor and sanity.

I caught his act on video, but wordpress wouldn’t accept it for some reason when I tried to upload it, they said file type does not meet security guidelines. Try another.  So I hope my description was good enough for now.

We’ll try to keep the boy from hurting himself too much, but a boy’s got to have fun.
  

October 1, 2006 - Posted by | Humor, kids, parenthood

4 Comments »

  1. I will allow you to take credit for the antics of your son coming from your side of the family. There is absolutely no way that I have anything to do with any hereditary condition he may possess. Besides, If you wanted to blame anyone in my family, the other Uncle would be a good start, he was an instigator, I was just a tattle-tell.
    Later
    The Good Uncle.

    Comment by The Good Uncle | October 2, 2006 | Reply

  2. I don’t want to take credit, in reality we all can be to blame for his odd choice of activities. He just mimics what he sees.

    Comment by linusmann | October 2, 2006 | Reply

  3. I remember the ladder down the stairs!! That explains alot now — don’t you think. HaHa

    What were our parents thinking?

    Comment by Uncle Terry | October 18, 2006 | Reply

  4. “Uncle” Terry,

    Parents thinking? That wasn’t allowed in the ’70’s. Imagine how we would’ve turned out if we didn’t have good ones.

    Comment by linusmann | October 19, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

