Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

They’re Back

I need to know if there’s someone I can sue or at least beat the living snot out of because I came home from work this morning to two sick children.  Yes, my kids are sick, AGAIN and I have a runny nose, too.  I thought winter time was when the colds keep attacking, not early fall.  I want to know whom I can blame.

Maybe we’ll just have to keep the kids in a hyperbaric chamber and not let them play with other children.  That’s one possible solution, but I imagine that the electric bills would be through the roof.  We can possibly get only one and have the two of them take turns or make a competition out of it.  She’s a little more stable on her feet and speaks better, but he’s a wily little guy who can surprise us so it might be a close contest.  I can see it now, our daughter sprinting to the finish line when she slips on some well placed oatmeal on the floor and our son wobbles across the wire for the gold.  Or we can let them live their lives like regular children and just deal with the occasional sickness, but that’s no fun.

I know there are a lot worse problems out there than runny noses and foghorn coughs and I should be thankful that we’re usually healthy except for the past month, but I really enjoy complaining.  If it annoys just one person it’s worth it.  I’ve done my job so I’m going to put some Vick’s Vapo rub on my feet and relax.  If anyone finds out who did this to my family let me know. 

September 28, 2006 - Posted by | Humor, kids, parenthood

2 Comments »

  1. Now Linus do NOT take this as a judgement of any kind 😉 We have found that lots of handwashing and religious antibacterial (like Purell) keep the sicknesses down to a minimum. The kids always wash their hands when they come in the door (especially from school). They always wash hands before they eat. I keep Purell in the car and when we’re out I use a squirt on their hands everytime we get in the car. Hand washing and sanitizing, if done religiously and frequently will cut down on sickness. Unfortunately when they’re little they do tend to get sick a lot. I hope you all are better soon.

    Comment by imhelendt | September 28, 2006 | Reply

  2. Stand in line there Daddy, I have the first swipe with the tissue to beat the snot out of the curmudgeon who let out the first sneeze that brought this about. I want to let you know that I now own the companies that make Advil Cold & Sinus and Robitussin and Scotties tissues. All I can say, is ‘This too shall pass’. Hang in there!

    Comment by The Grandmother | September 28, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

