Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Don’t Feed Your Dinosaur

We attended a birthday party for our kids’ fourteen-year-old cousin last night.  Half of our family lives out of town so the number of potential playmates has dwindled, but the cousin’s cousin is the same age as our daughter so she had a partner in crime the whole night.  The girls had a ball and resurrected a couple of their cousin’s Toy Story toys.  Ours had the dinosaur, of course, and the other one had Woody the cowboy.

Our son didn’t seem to care what they were up to.  He just kept making the wobbly circular journey around the living room, dining room, and kitchen only stopping for a cracker or some juice.  I don’t want to think about the number of crackers that were lost just for his enjoyment.  My sister will be finding them for weeks.

Cake time is always highly anticipated and the kids like it, too.  The singing was just beautiful.  The birthday boy’s father does actually get paid to sing and his family can carry a tune.  Unfortunately, most of my family joined in and we sound about as good as Milli Vanilli when their mikes were turned on.  I hope no one videotaped us, at least not with sound.

Eating the cake and ice cream is usually my favorite part and this night was no different.  We gave our son a brownie because it would be easier for him to eat with his hands than ice cream.  His chubby cheeks puffed out like a chipmunk when he devoured half of it with one bite.  Our daughter did a commendable job on her cake and ice cream, but her fork occasionally traveled under the table.  My wife noticed this and ended up saying something no parent ever expects to verbalize.

“Don’t feed your dinosaur!”

Our little girl looked surprised that she was told this.  I guess she felt that if she liked the cake so would the stuffed dinosaur that sat on her lap.  It seems like sound reasoning to me and it’s nice to see that she likes to share.

After we licked, I mean wiped, the frosting off of the dinosaur it was present-opening time.  The girls lost interest quickly because a fourteen-year-old doesn’t get toys for his birthday, but our boy got right in there and destroyed all the wrapping paper and envelopes.  That was just in case the cracker trail wasn’t enough of a mess. 

Cake and ice cream seems to have the opposite effect on kids than adults.  I felt sluggish and wanted to sit down, but the little animals were bouncing off the walls even though it was a little past their regular bed time.  I forget this every time and I still go for the second piece of cake.

It took a while but we corralled the kiddies and headed home.  It was a fun night to remember even though I felt like I would explode from my gluttonous conduct.

September 26, 2006 - Posted by | Humor, kids, parenthood

4 Comments »

  1. I figure I’ll wait until I have some kids running around China before I comment on your previous posts.

    It must be a little strange these days at family gatherings, especially after the family of 7 took off. And the other family of 7 is now left at 3. I miss the days when it is pure chaos around the houses. Glad to hear it’s still enjoyable, especially now that you have your own chaos to deal with 🙂

    Comment by Mike | September 26, 2006 | Reply

  2. Mike,
    Shouldn’t you change kids to kid because of the one child restriction over there?

    Yes, the parties are different, but my kids are trying to keep the noise level the same and there’s still too many sweets.

    Comment by linusmann | September 26, 2006 | Reply

  3. Kids…1 child per woman

    I’m missing the cherry cake & Mazurek’s (sp?) right now

    Comment by Mike | September 27, 2006 | Reply

  4. So, YOU can have as many as the ladies let you.

    The famous cherry cake was there the other night and it was delicious.

    Comment by linusmann | September 27, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

