Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Rumor or Fact

The power of the written word never ceases to amaze me.  If I wanted to I could start a vicious rumor right now.  For example, I could say that Britney Spears ate the umbilical cord off of her new baby and at least one of the four of you that read this would believe it.  Then it would be repeated to someone else.  All because it was in print.

Through my job I occasionally am at situations that make the news.  I notice that quite often the “facts” in the paper are inaccurate.  The amount of stories that I have inside information on is minimal, so how many stories are wrong?  The numbers must be staggering.  Even with knowing this I still tend to believe a lot of what I read.  Am I stupid?  Maybe, but I think, like most people, I usually believe what I read.  My brain tends to suspend disbelief as if I’m watching a reality show.

There are so many different outlets for people to get their news from that most of it gets sensationalized.  If a kid gets bit in the hand by a dog the headline might read, Boy Almost Loses Arm In Attack.  The reality might be that the dog didn’t even break the skin, but people don’t want to hear that.  The misinformation train gets rolling because a lot of people only read the headlines.

I guess the moral of this story is that you shouldn’t believe everything you read.  Did I tell you about Britney Spears eating her baby’s umbilical cord?   

September 17, 2006 - Posted by | rumors

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

