Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Blogging

What is a blog?  I see this question asked and answered on a lot of different “blogs”.  I’m new to this game (my first post was Aug. 16) so I’m not sure what the correct answer is.  Someone told me that a blog is whatever the blogger wants it to be.  I like that answer.  I will keep droning on about my experiences in my own way and learn from my mistakes as I go along.

The purpose for this blog is to entertain (hopefully) and educate (not really) the readers.  It also motivates me to get off (or should I say on) my a** and write.  This is the first bit of non-fiction (in a James Frey type of way) I’ve written.  In the past I wrote only fiction, short stories mostly (I even finished a couple).  My main influence in blogging was my nephew (his blog is in my blogroll, MannInChina).  It piqued my interest when he told me he had a blog.  I went home and found it on Google and I thought it was pretty cool so I tried it and here I am. 

I’m not sure what I expect to get out of this.  I could dream big and hope to be the next Scobleizer, http://scobleizer.wordpress.com/.  He seems to have a mass following.  Or I can just go about my day and keep a somewhat embellished record of what’s happening in my world in 2006 and not worry who likes what I write (yeah, right… I need a hug).  Whatever happens at least I’ll have a written account of my experiences with my family and friends with an occasional opinion thrown in. 

In case you haven’t noticed, I don’t mention names in my posts unless they are of celebrities or known people.  This is to protect the guilty and to prevent me from being sued. 

September 6, 2006 - Posted by | Blogging

2 Comments »

  1. Dave…you’re right…a blog is whatever you want it to be. You can find a blog for just about anything these days, most tend to be journals. There are also a ton of tech blogs… keeping up with the latest technologies (Engadget is a popular one). People also use blogs to exchange technical help (i.e., “I have a problem viewing wordpress from China, how can I get past it?” … and people will respond with some suggestions).

    I’m new to blogging too, just started back in March. I enjoy it…it mostly takes shape as a journal, which is OK. I hope to make it more interactive down the road, especially with the China twist. Some people ask me “isn’t it weird to have your thoughts visible to the world?” I don’t mind, and, these are not ALL of my thoughts :).

    It also helps with communication…I tend to like blogging better than email. As an example…you read what I’m up to in China, and post a comment. It’s opened us up to more communication for sure. In the past, we really only talked when we physically saw each other.

    Last, you can use a blog to exchange ideas or get input on ideas. That is, ideas that you don’t mind being out in cyper space, up for grabs.

    Glad you’re out in the blogosphere, keep at it!

    Comment by Mike | September 6, 2006 | Reply

  2. Mike,

    Thanks for the support. I enjoy reading what you’re up to in China and it’s great to communicate with you more often.

    I guess I’m not as comfortable as you when it comes to journal-like posts. It’s easier for me to give a humorous(hopefully) account of what I see and do with a little (or a lot) of embellishment. I think it’s my safety net.

    Right now I’m a bit of a neophyte, but I imagine that my blogging talents will improve as I go along.

    Comment by linusmann | September 6, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

