Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Butterfly Dreams and Chocolate Kisses

Another adventure with the kids under my belt.  This time my wife joined us because of a well timed vacation day… two on two, the way I like it.  We headed to the Great White North… actually to Niagara Falls, Ontario.  The Butterfly Conservatory was our destination.  None of us had been there before and we figured it would be pretty cool, especially because my daughter loves butterflies… usually with ketchup.

Crossing the border wasn’t as easy as it used to be, but not because of customs.  The posted speed limit on the bridge was 15 mph and the bridge was empty.  There were two of those “your speed is” things on the bridge and we couldn’t come close to the limit.  The slowest we went was probably 21 mph.  Talk about nerve racking.  I’d hate to be mistaken for a group of speeding terrorists.  My wife and daughter look pretty innocent, but my one year old son can be quite menacing.  Luckily, we made it through without much of a hassle.  There was one cavity search that came up with nothing incriminating.  Man, was I embarrassed when I found out the guy was just the duty free clerk… I hope he calls.

We arrived at our destination with hardly any whining.  I got over it.  The kids were in a great mood and we (wife and I)were excited to see what this place was all about.

Right from the start the butterflies were everywhere.  I’m not afraid of insects (with the exception of the scary spider in our front garden), but it takes a second to adjust to numerous colorful creatures flapping their wings in your face.  The kids seemed more fascinated than fearful.  My son tried grabbing any that flew in his airspace and my daughter howled joyously.

There were wings of every color of the rainbow, even yellow.  I actually was excited being there.  There was something about the thousands(that’s a guess) of insects landing all over the place.  My daughter desperately wanted one to land on her, but they landed on the rest of us instead.  That was probably a good thing for the butterflies because she occasionally likes to tear bugs in half (she innocently says that she is sending them to find their mommy and daddy).  I don’t know where she gets this from.  She got over the fact that none landed on her because a couple brushed against her face right before we left.  She said that they tickled her nose.  Sounds good to me.

We decided to have lunch at the Rainforest Cafe in N. Falls, ON.  This place is great for kids because of the animatronic animals that move around and make noise.  There is also a thunderstorm once in a while.  We’ve somehow convinced our daughter that thunder and lightning is fun.  It makes life a lot easier and eases my fears a little.  While waiting for our food I brought our son around to where the animals were.  He liked them… sort of.  My shoulder is still black and blue where he grabbed me when the elephant blinked.  It was a good lunch filled with good family fun.

Next stop, the Hershey store.  The two block walk was filled with all kinds of people, some of whom were actually attractive… almost.  Living so close to the Falls makes it easy to forget how many people travel from around the world to see them.  This place was packed on a Thursday afternoon.

Our daughter’s eyes lit up in the Hershey store.  What kid doesn’t like chocolate?  It was hypothetical.   My wife let her pick out whatever she wanted.  It sounded crazy to me, but we were on vacation… sort of.  After perusing all the selections she chose the very last thing she saw, a chocolate covered strawberry.  Delicious!  And messy.  Both kids devoured their treats.  And both kids were chocolate covered sticky messes.  Luckily we had baby wipes.  They work great and they’re disposable.  The kids were cleaner going then they were coming.

Everyone fell asleep on the ride home… except me (the driver).  That’s a sign of a great day with the family. 

August 29, 2006 - Posted by | Humor, parenthood

2 Comments »

  1. Your post just below here… why did you turn comments off? Didn’t want any rude comments on your night in the hotel 🙂

    Anyway… I’d pay to see the video of you dancing. The Mann’s/Connors’ have absolutely no dancing ability. The only quality moves I’ve seen are Uncle Kev diving across the dance floor and magically jumping up as quick as he flopped down & Tim’s arm pumping abilities. Gram & gramp get the award for the sexiest slow dancing though.

    I myself made my way onto the dance floor out in Beijing last weekend, what I sight that was!

    Comment by Mike | August 31, 2006 | Reply

  2. Mike,

    I don’t know how I turned the comments off and I haven’t figured out how to turn them back on.

    As for my dancing, I think there is video(scary). Did the whole place stop and stare at you in Beijing? You’ve got to be the tallest guy there.

    If you know how to turn the comments back on let me know.

    Comment by linusmann | August 31, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

