Pessimistic Optimism

Life as I see it… sort of.

Sleep Deprivation

I’ve been awake since 6 am Friday (give or take a couple of cat-naps) and I’m getting cranky.  Every time I doze off something unnecessary wakes me up.  Here are a few examples: a man was beaten to a bloody pulp and needed our help… give me a break; Someone was possibly trapped in an elevator… can’t it wait until morning?; another guy was beaten bloody… not to a pulp though, so he definitely could have waited.  Those were during the night.

During the day my kids demanded my attention… like I’m any fun.  They even insisted on eating… more than once.  My wife told me to go to bed, but I refused unless she would join me.  She said no… I’m hoping it was because someone had to be with the children and not because I still haven’t changed my underwear.  I asked her if we could put them in the crate with our dog because he’s old enough to watch them (4 years old x 7 = 28 in dog years).  I even promised to make it quick… like I have a choice.  She still said no so I stayed awake.

I finally fell asleep while watching television at 3:40 pm. Unfortunately, I had to leave for work at 3:50 pm.  Things keep coming up at work that make it hard to sleep… obligations, duties, bosses, etc. 

So here I sit in my crankiness hoping that tonight I’ll finally be able to sleep.  I want to reach James Frey’s supposed level of unconsciousness in his memoir without the aid of any drugs or alcohol.  Wish me luck!

August 20, 2006 - Posted by | Still Awake

1 Comment »

  1. Hey Uncle Dave, glad to see you’re up & running with the blog! I’m having some problems getting mine going from China right now, hopefully I’ll fix it soon.

    Sucks that you have a hard time sleeping at work, HA!

    take it easy & I hope all is well

    Mike

    Comment by Mike | August 23, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

